Champions League: The UEFA website says PSG got Real Madrid spot after technical error in tie re-draw

According to an eagle-eyed Internet user in Munich, PSG has been granted a two-legged tie against Real Madrid in the knockout round of the Champions League after a technical error forced the re-draw.

“Never seen anything like this in EURO CL. Play was down to one match. Then tv cut to AWARD shows a video of them discussing the tie,” tweeted Ben Rauch.

The UEFA website has also pointed out the error:

The IAAF and CAVB replied: “IAAF check all entry rules and record procedures. All entries are checked before circulation to them. In this case, the rules are that entry numbers for all individual spots must be matched. The CAVB is not involved in the entry checks. Entry numbers cannot be combined.”

PSG and Real Madrid met last season in the quarterfinals, with Zinedine Zidane’s side winning 3-0 in Paris and 2-0 at the Bernabeu in the second leg, securing a place in the semi-finals where they defeated Bayern Munich.

PSG got through on away goals but went out 2-1 on aggregate to their German opponents in the semi-finals.

Leave a Comment